It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Life is a venture which has lots of obstacles at each and every step. These can only be encountered if one is ready to take risks both personally as well as to develop one's professional side. While accepting dangers has a few demerits I believe that the pros of taking risks far outweigh the cons. The primary reason why accepting dangers is essential is due to the practices that our past heroes have left behind. For instance, In India during the early 19th century Raja Ram Mohan Roy abolished the practice of 'Sati' which involves killing a woman after her husband's death by pushing her with him into the fire in which he is cremated. The reason why such brutal and violent practices do not exist today is due to the peril that our leaders had to go through. Secondly, taking up challenges also helps an individual in his or her career development. For example, The manager of a company receives a high salary and incentives than the rest of the employees. This is because,at some point in life, he or she has shown a great deal of courage to face uncertainty and sacrificed many comforts. Also, risk-taking can ensure that the children of a family get a good future. For example, if parents decide to set aside a small sum of money each year for their child's education, then during tough times like financial crisis etc. the child can use this money and pursue his or her education, without any strain. However, along with merits come minor drawbacks which cannot be ignored. Sometimes taking risks can drain one's time, money and energy. For instance, if a start-up organised by someone fails then that human will suffer financial losses not to add, it will consume a lot of time. Also, taking risks can sometimes prove to be hazardous and fatal. For example, The French scientist Marie Curie discovered radiation. Although it is widely used for cancer treatments nowadays it came at the cost of her life. To summarize, while taking up risks can lead to financial losses as well as can have serious impacts, this is not always the case as it leads to many merits like career and skill development, innovations and reforms which mask the disadvantages.