Some people prefer activities and lifestyles in hot climates while others prefer living in cold climates. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people enjoy living in hotter climates while others are more inclined to a cold-weather lifestyle. In my opinion, although the latter can engender greater productivity, it is better to live in a warm climate for the mental and physical health benefits. Those with an inclination towards cold weather argue it is a catalyst for work. Individuals living in colder places typically spend more time indoors and less time socializing or being active outside. This naturally gives them the opportunity to get more work or study done. The best evidence for this is the achievements made in nations with colder average temperatures. The countries in Northern Europe, for instance, typically have higher per capita earning figures and make more significant contributions in terms of innovations and economic production. One explanation for this is that a person living in a harsh climate is simply less likely to be distracted by activities outside the home. I would argue, however, that warm weather encourages a more physically active and cheerful disposition. The goal of life is not simply to be productive but also to enjoy one’s life. Returning to the European example, although the northern countries have stronger economies, the southern locations report higher levels of happiness and satisfaction. This is because individuals can go outside and play sports, visit beaches, and socialize more frequently. The benefits for physical health also extend to mental health. People in warmer climates, such as those from Southern California, are generally more upbeat, positive, and outgoing. Leading an active, enjoyable life is more important than being in the optimal situation to maximize productivity. In conclusion, despite the advantages of cold weather for individual productivity, the best lifestyles are generally enjoyed in warmer climates. All other factors being equal, residents should seek to live and raise a family in hotter locales.