Some people argue that companies and private individuals, rather than governments, should pay to clean up the pollution that they produced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Huge amounts of waste produced every day pose a great threat to human life and the environment. This raises the question as to whose duty it is to pay for waste collection services; the local governments or the companies and individuals who produced them. It only seems reasonable to expect the main polluters to fund the costs. Corporations and private sections contribute extensively to pollution, hence should pay for the damage they cause. The outcomes of this proposal are twofold. Firstly, only by making companies finance the waste treatment process will they be motivated to let go of their old ways and adopt more environmentally friendly procedures, thus reducing the amount of waste and in turn the costs of waste disposal; for example by using renewable fuels or sustainable materials in their products, packaging and even marketing. Secondly, doing so will take the burden off the government ’s shoulders, as they are normally considered the sole body responsible for funding the waste disposal process. Shifting the responsibility to corporations and private individuals, however, governments can allocate the budget to other essential sections such as infrastructure or healthcare, which would help society prosper more. Thus, forcing companies and individuals to fund the costs of waste collection and disposal would assist the government financially and help protect the environment. Nevertheless, to some, governments should solely be responsible for financing the pollution clean-up. This may be true as corporations and non-state industries are already paying huge sums in taxes every year, so it seems only natural to expect the local governments to fund the pollution-cleaning process. Should the government pose huge amounts of taxes on companies and obligate them to pay for the waste treatment as well, companies will feel swindled and robbed. This, of course, would lead to nothing but the rise in discontentment in society and perhaps tax evasion as a path of reconciliation. Having said that, large corporations receive government subsidies, and thus should be held accountable for their own pollution. For example, in case of an oil spill in the ocean, the government should not be responsible for providing resources; that is the oil company’s responsibility to clean it up and compensate for the possible damages. The government ’s role here is to make sure there are laws in place that will protect the public’s health and the environment, and that these laws are adhered to by the company at fault. So, corporations and individuals seem to be the ones who should pay for the disposal of the garbage they produce. In conclusion, I agree with this proposal. Although this statement might initially be hard to implement, and some may resist the idea, in the long run, it will benefit everyone from the government to corporations and of course the environment and nation.