Some people believe that modern technology encourages more sociable behaviour. Others say that this leads to lesser sociable behaviour. Discuss both views with examples and provide your opinion.

While some argue that our high-tech technology and online social platforms have allowed us to be more connected to the rest of the world, others say that our smart devices have left us feeling more disconnected and alone. In my opinion, the truth lies somewhere in the middle, with the onus being on users/ people to utilize these modern resources healthily and productively. On the one side of the argument, some believe that our innovative technology is a tool that can be used to bring us closer despite the vast distances that separate us. The most compelling reason for thinking this is that it would have been nearly impossible/challenging to build friendships with people from different countries and cultures in the past. However, in contemporary society, this feat can be accomplished by clicking a button. This trend has led to communities that are more tolerant of people from different backgrounds and has helped many people find common ground with those from highly diverse backgrounds. Despite the advantages mentioned above, some are adamant that technology has only created the illusion of being socially connected, and most people are deprived of genuine social interactions. Indeed, one of the main reasons I hold this position is that it is clear that devices like smartphones and iPads intrude more and more on our close relationships. More ofteOftenmembers and friends are less attentive to each other despite being in close physical proximity. This is almost always because they are deeply engrossed in whatever they view on their phones. In other words, we have become a technology -reliant and smartphone-obsessed society with less face-to-face communication than in any different era of human history. In conclusion, while both views are held in society, I believe that our inability to form and maintain authentic/close relationships should be blamed less on modern technology and more on how we, as people, choose to use these resources. Given this situation, it is suggested that communities should be more educated about the consequences of being overly dependent on smart devices and online platforms.