Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of reading books always deserves some analysis. This essay’s writer totally agrees with the idea that the benefits of reading paper materials will overshadow watching TV or playing video games. Moreover, the two primary benefits are discussed below. First of all, building a habit of reading paper books leads children to excellent productivity in other activities due to the high level of concentration. That means practising reading books on a daily basis fosters the young’s ability to ignore surrounding disturbances from chaotic scenarios, hence, maintaining mental alertness. An eight-year-old bookworm, to exemplify, could practice the piano or do homework without being distracted by the heavy traffic congestion for a long time. Therefore, each child could gain better results in other activities by having a high level of alertness. Secondly, books provide the young with a rich source of knowledge. Children could be able to expose to the wide rages of storytelling styles, vocabularies or sentence structures. That precious knowledge could equip the young with strong oral and verbal communication abilities. Take students at primary school as an example. The young who read books regularly understand materials at a very high speed and achieve high scores for essays. As a result, they will be effortless to process a large number of theory-based subjects. To conclude, reading paper book increases mental alertness as well as help each child be more intellectual in studying.