There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often stated that, because of the scarcity of accommodation, most of the citizens who prefer to live in cities are facing countless unwelcome situations. In this case, the government can increase their budget for the public works sector to reduce the extent of such issues. According to my opinion, I strongly agree this viewpoint as this ’ll erase a number of problems city dwellers are facing in their daily lives. This essay will explain the reasoning behind my agreement with relevant examples. Most importantly, due to the shortage in housing, most people are forced to stay far from the business centre of the city which causes a notable crisis for them when travelling towards offices or other workstations. During rush hour, they tend to pay higher rents for city -bounding motor vehicles to reach destinations. As a result, it poses immense pressure on their monthly income. If governments are willing to build a residential area near the city business hub with a reasonable number of flats or apartments, the above-mentioned problems can be reduced largely. For instance, I live in a relatively rural area which is quite distant from the main city centerbecause of the described circumstances. Every day, I spend about 100 BDT to reach my office. My salary is 20,000 BDT. As seen, I pay about 30% of my income per month to pay rent for light motor vehicles which obviously could be quite small if I would stay near my job station. Another significant point to consider is that, due to housing shortages in cities, the rents of good flats with necessary facilities are rising sharply over the years which creates a lot of pressure on middle-income families. In order to pay over-priced housing rents, they’re spending pretty least on clothing or buying nutritious foods or even entertainment aspects. If governments are able to extend their helping hands in solving the accommodation problems of city people, this above-stated situation can be improved greatly. In conclusion, I absolutely agree that profound social difficulties encountered by the public originating from the shortage of accommodation can be fixed successfully if and only if the government is willing to do so.