Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Despite having served a sentence, a large number of prisoners reoffended after being released. This phenomenon can be remedied, provided that some feasible measures are employed to address its major reasons. That the importance of rehabilitation is underestimated is considered as the primary reason. In other words, the lack of rehabilitative effort and ineffective programs may put inmates into reoffending as they have little retraining and understanding of moral behaviors. Another problem for recidivists may be limited employment and accommodation options. As a result, they are likely to end up back in prison owing to financial hardship or mental illness such as depression. From what has been discussed, one of the ways to tackle this is to set a clear specification of treatment goals through an assessment of the individual offenders. By doing this, offenders with education, vocational training, and mental health counseling can be prepared to reenter society. Furthermore, governments can implement re-entry programs while businesses are encouraged to hire former criminals. Norway is a case in point, which has one of the lowest recidivism rates in the world as they place a priority on proper rehabilitation and restorative justice. In conclusion, crime figures would soon drop, if there were practical solutions to deal with the issue.