In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that thier products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative developments?

Recently, in a business advertisement, it is a common way to appeal a product that has a new characteristic to a certain extent. This is because, consumers tend to be lured into something new, and it is one of the most possible ways for organizations to emphasise points. I personally believe the benefits of this tendency outweigh the drawbacks, as it encourages associations to develop new technology, making our societies better. Firstly, it is natural for companies to emphasise something new points of their products because that can attract consumers' interest. General customers are always seeking something new as they want to spend money on items better than previous ones. For them, it would be reasonably expected that something "new" means something "developed." For instance, when the publishment of a new model of iPhone, Apple Inc. needs to appeal to additional features or how their product has been improved, because apple freaks do not interest in a smartphone without any development from the previous version. The purpose of advertisement is to reach customers and sell the products, therefore, it is commercially reasonable to focus on novel parts of products for most the companies. Some people might claim that high competitions among companies in the advertising area trying to appeal to new points have a risk to create misleading ads, therefore, it is necessary to restrict such advertising. However, I disagree with this idea. With the development of the Internet, reasonable consumers can gather information and identify false advertisements or misleading ads. On the other hand, for the purpose of advertising something new points, companies need to develop their products. This is the reason why companies spend a huge amount of money on research and development areas, advancing technology. The development in tech fields and launching a new product make our lives better, and I think this benefit is more essential than the risk that the opponents state. In summary, for companies, emphasising new aspects of their products is effective to reach their customers. In addition, while there is a risk of emerging misleading advertisement risk, the benefits of encouraging such advertisements outweigh the drawbacks.