Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem.

Overusing plastic -made bottles or packaging is becoming a serious concern as their materials threaten our planet. This essay will highlight the causes of this trend and reach solutions to tackle the issue. There are 3 main facts that prove countries should stop using plastic materials. Firstly, it is common knowledge that plastics last for hundreds of years and will not be recycled naturally. Secondly, the process of recycling these types of substances is much more expensive than other materials and governments should assign a huge amount of their budgets to dispose of them. Finally, a vast area is needed to collect and store plastic waste and it leads to a lack of empty land for building recreational centres or constructing new houses. According to an article published by Times, more than 40 KM square meters of The USA have been occupied by plastic trash. Although plastic goods have become essential for modern living, some wise actions should be taken by authorities and people to mitigate their ill effects. Setting some rules by the government to encourage factories to use eco-friendly materials for their merchandise packaging will help to reach less waste. For example, the government of Japan gives zero-interest loans to manufacturers in order to expand their projects related to green packing. Moreover, ordinary people should play an important role to make our planet a better place to live. Replacing nylon bags with fabric ones for shopping is a great way to deal with this problem. In conclusion, it is true that plastic goods are damaging our living area. Occupying lands and spending a remarkable amount of money and time to get rid of them are some of the consequences. Governments and people are both responsible and they need to abandon plastics from their routines or from the process of product manufacturing.