Some people think that product should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making the product cheap is more important. Discuss both views and express your opinion.

The market is loaded with a variety of products to choose from. While durability is main goal for some manufacturers,the other half focuses on making it affordable for the common man. In this essay, I will be discussing how both, a longer self-life and a cheaper price makes the product ideal in its own way but when choosing one of them, the cost effectiveness surpasses the benefits of longevity of any given product. The more long lasting the product is, the lesser is the pollution caused by waste generated. Every item bought, has to be discarded after it wears and tears off, expires, looses its function, purpose or viability. If it happens too soon, the management of all the wastes produced, can creative a load on the planet. For instance,Due to frequent accumulation of waste and unavailability of ways to tackle them, there is steep rise in the number of landfills throughout the world. Longer durability can help in significantly reducing the amount of trash generated, hence lowering the burden of waste management making it a sustainable option. Cheaper goods are accessible. The lesser the price, the more widespread use of that product becomes possible. More and more consumers can benefit from having a cheaper, pocket- friendly alternative. For example, Low cost is even more crucial for the people of developing countries where a major part of the population is below below poverty life. Not every person is affluent enough to purchase an expensive item so affordability of any product increases the domain of buyers. The main goal of the manufacturing industry should be finding a balance between the price and the longevity of any good. But, affordability outweighs the fight between the two because, if people wouldn’t be able to afford it they will not be able to buy it. This will in turn, increase the cost of product even further making it a luxury which not every socio-economic strata will be able to afford. Thus, to benefit maximum people affordability is quite crucial. In conclusion, affordability can help the product to become popular, reach door-to- door and benefit every person, be it rich or poor.