Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

it is thought that people should be accountable for their own health; however, others consider that governments can control their citizens' lifestyles and encourage them to live healthily. In my opinion, despite the role that governments can play, every individual is responsible for his own body. To commence with, the community should be aware of the consequences of their actions; therefore, they should follow a healthy diet and exercise regularly in order to prevent serious illnesses. In addition, technological evolution made it possible for every individual to read products' details before purchasing and increase their medical knowledge. For instance, it is possible to consult a nutritionist online from home and set a plan to adjust your lifestyle in order to reach your target. However, this requires dedication and commitment from the individual to be able to promote his well-being On the other hand, governments have an effective role in promoting healthy lifestyles. In fact, there are several ways to achieve this target such as applying high taxes on detrimental products like cigarettes and tobacco, in addition, they should ban some other products that lead to health issues. Moreover, awareness campaigns can be effective in spreading knowledge to the community, especially for older people that are not up to date with technology and barely have a medical background. For example, an event held recently targeted elderlies whereas blood tests and medical consultations were provided for free in an attempt to increase their knowledge regarding their well-being. To sum up, both governments and citizens have a substantial part in promoting health and increasing awareness about serious illnesses. I believe that individuals have a fundamental role in controlling their way of living.