Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and hurts people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern world, advancements in technological development have provided many ways to marketers of promoting their products and services to the public. For example, Tv ads, and online ads on video streaming websites, these ads are cluttered everywhere, which from my point of view, ultimately leads to a negative impact on behaviour and our mindset. To begin with, the advertiser usually promotes consumerism. We are always told to buy new clothes and stay trendy, or we won't look cool without purchasing the latest iPhone. These advertisements create a habit that negatively affects individual financial status by targeting individuals’ impulsive behaviour. Moreover, they use stereotypes; through advertising, they create a feeling toward how a particular group should look. For example, beauty creams tailored towards women try to project the white colour of a woman as superior to the other colour. Displaying having fair white skin is a symbol of higher status. Additionally, mind cluttering everywhere you see, you may find an advertisement. People desire to make their life as simple as possible, but we ultimately process thousands of pieces of information daily due to this factor. Furthermore, companies often make products look amazing with misleading details through their advertising design and stories. But it only sometimes performs as described in the ads. Additionally, adverts generally create low self-esteem by manipulating thoughts and persuading you to buy products that will make you happy. To conclude, constant advertising worsens our lifestyle and mental health and sometimes gives us unprecedented emotional damage as most people blindly follow the trends without thinking about their consequences.