In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using mobile phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

The world is moving towards technological advancement in digital payments. The traditional methods involving cash are being obsolete due to the presence of alternate channels. In my opinion, it is probable that the developments in conventional systems and growing artificial intelligence may lead to business activities via cards or mobile wallets only and this will further affect the volume of cash in day-to-day operations. Realistically, payments via digital methods are increasing primarily due to efficiency and cost-saving technology. Nowadays, most individuals own bank accounts and smartphones which enable them to carry less or no currency with them. These plastic or digital transactions help in auto-reconciliation and are also secure as well. For instance, in Pakistan before Covid-19 the digital payment system was weak and most people had to pay through cash, however, during those years the regulator emphasized alternate delivery channels to grow economic activity within the country. In fact, all these transactions were free to incentivise people and increase their volumes. This overall transformation resulted in a more complied and secure environment for the local economy, this further helped the government to understand the different buying power strategies of its public. Therefore, the trend for digital payments is increasing and being adopted by the overall global population. On another hand, with the growing trend of alternate methods, there is a certain percentage of the population who wants to stay with cash transactions. This is mainly from older generations where individuals are not tech-savvy and reluctant to adapt to any new change. As per the global survey of US FED, approx. 40% of people in the age bracket of 50-70 years do not like to pay through card or mobile phone. However, the awareness and incentives for the digital economy by the government may lead to a reduction in cash transactions. To sum up, the growing technology around us will eventually convert cash payments to digital modes. This may be not adopted by a few people, however, the major portion of the world population will be converted to only by alternate channels.