Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that goverment should make it free for all student no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As tuition fees have increased inexorably in recent years, the affordability of higher education has emerged as a topic of interest. It is argued that the government should waive college tuition fees, irrespective of students ' socio-economic background. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that abolishing tuition would have an adverse bearing on both students and society. There are many compelling reasons why students should be allowed to pursue college for free. On the individual level, bachelor's degree holders will stand a better chance of getting higher-paying jobs, which will be particularly helpful for students coming from underprivileged families. On the societal level, a surge in the gross enrollment rate, prompted by a fee- college policy, would give rise to a more educated workforce. This may act as a precursor to not only a thriving economy but also a civilized society. However, despite the aforementioned advantages, I would contend that the provision of free-of-charge higher education can do both the beneficiaries and society a disservice. Today, the usefulness of a college degree in job seeking is questionable at best. The job market has become very competitive as it is, even for job seekers with college qualifications. Therefore, if everyone is entitled to university education, it is no longer feasible for them to find a job, let alone the financial abundance so often associated with the acquisition of a tertiary degree. In addition to this, the enormous cost incurred to cover higher education tuition will put a strain on government coffers, leading to budget deficits, tax hikes and reduced welfare among others. In conclusion, while the potential benefits of university tuition waivers make it seem a good idea, I would argue that the state leader should not make college free for everyone.