Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Concerning medical problems such as diabetes,some people believe that food that contains a lot of sugar should be sold at higher prices to reduce sugar consumption. I personally, however, disagree with a such an opinion, because it is not practical to decide how much the price should be raised for each product, and because the effect of price change would be limited similar to other highly taxed commodities such as tobacco. First of all, as there are wide range of sugary products, and the amount of sugar contained in them differs significantly from a product to product. Therefore, it is extremely difficult to determine the method of price adjusting. For example, cold drink such as coke contains relatively much sugar in the ammount, whereas the percentage of sugar is not higher as water dilutes it. On the other hand, the proportion of sweet ingredients in candy is high, even though the gram of sugar for each candy is minimal. If the government taxed in accordance with the amount of sugar, we could not buy seven-up at the vending machine because of the sharp price raising, but it is not acceptable for not only many big beverage companies, but also general consumers. Secondly, as can be seen in the cigarette industry, price raising might not make result as expected. In spite of several tax increases, smokers never stop going to tobacco shops because they can not quit smoking. Like nicotine in tobacco, sugar has an addictive effect, so people would continue to buy sweet snacks despite significant raising in price or imposing the high taxes. In summary, the proposal to raising the price of sweets is not practical and effective. Nowadays, more and more people are caring about their health, and improving their diet by eating more proteins or vegetables. To reduce serious health concerns by consumption of sugar, continual education regarding healthy lifestyles is the most essential.