Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this period of technology, many people claims that the advent of sophisticated modern technology such as mobile phones, laptops and Ipad has helped to enhance and improve people's social lives compare to an earlier time. In my opinion, I partially agree with this notion and believe that excessive dependency creates some drawbacks too. My opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable conclusion. Supporting my argument to the given statement the popularity of technology such as cell phones allows people to connect freely and easily with no geographical barriers. To cite an example, the invention of social apps like WhatsApp, skype reduced crucial face-to-face interactions dramatically. Through the use of these appealing and attractive mediums, people feel in touch and connected yet lack key social skills and the ability to communicate. Explaining some of the other points against this statement, it is true that dependence on such devices is built up frighteningly easily which may have damaging effects on mental health and encourage a sedentary lifestyle. For example, recent scientific research in the UK demonstrated that people in their 30s spend over 20 hours per week on Messenger and similar applications to chat with friends instead of meeting up and spending quality time together or doing a sport. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have decreased and diminished real-life interactions. In conclusion, from the argument and examples given, I firmly believe that overall communication and sociability has been advanced enormously due to the huge technological progress over the past twenty years despite some drawbacks.