Some people believe that the only purpose for anyone to learn a second language is to travel or work abroad. Others argue that this is not the only purpose why someone needs to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Currently, the ability to communicate in a foreign language is a valuable asset for people from all walks of life to function effectively in a globalized world. While many choose to study an additional language for occupational and recreational purposes, others do so for different aspirations, which is considered to be the only possible measure. This essay takes both perspectives into consideration in greater depth and expresses my personal point of view to evaluate the validity of each claim. On the one hand, it is without a doubt that some people learn a foreign language solely because of professional and travelling needs in other countries. This is due to the fact that more companies are expanding their business to every corner of the world. This means that employers look for employees who can speak languages other than their mother tongue. Additionally, International tourism has been promoted by many governments. So being able to speak multiple languages can help people enjoy life in this respect. On the other hand, there are other reasons for learning an alternative language. First of all, knowing another language can help enrich cultural understanding as well as literary appreciation. Second of all, a number of non-native English speakers prepare for English proficiency exams for educational purposes. Last but not least, the ability to converse in a non-mother tongue can broaden opportunities to grow various forms of relationship including friendship and multinational marriage. To conclude, while foreign language skills are crucial for business and travel overseas, it is undeniable that other motivations also exist namely cultural understanding, education and relationship. Different people have different reason which are all valid in their own judgement. No matter what the reasons are, it is indispensable to acquire additional language skills.