To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Nowadays it is necessary to find alternative sources of food, since the constant growth of the world population. Insect-based food is popular in some Asian and South American countries. However, they are not considered healthy by some people who also think that consuming insects would negatively impact the environment. In the majority of Western developed countries, eating insects is not part of their culture and that's why people are not inclined to introduce this kind of food to their diet. Furthermore, it is commonly thought that insects are unhealthy, despite the high amount of protein that they have. Some, think that killing insects may threaten some habitats that are already at risk because of global warming and human activity. However, I think that eating insect-based food has a lot of benefits. Although edible insects are not popular in certain countries, they are part of the diet of some Asian countries like Thailand, and China and some South American countries such as Peru. If these countries have introduced food -based insects for thousands of years, it means that it is perfectly safe to eat them and therefore it is just a matter of culture if European and American populations do not will to eat edible insects. Furthermore, if we replaced with insect farming part of beef and poultry farming, which are well known the be among the major causes of global warming due to their huge CO2 emissions, we may take a huge step forward to a more environmentally friendly world. In conclusion, I think we should be more open-minded towards new habits and destroy cultural barriers that are just the fruit of stereotypes and disinformation.