These days, many young people are not spending their weekends and holidays doing outdoor activities such as hiking or mountaineering. Why is that happening? and how can they be encouraged to spend more time in the natural environment?

In this contemporary epoch, the tendency of avoiding recreational activities has become a controversial argument. Whilst outdoor games are quintessential for the general well-being of students, they have been avoided because of the ubiquitous online entertainment. Hence, I am a staunch believer that the key solution to this trend is school engagement. In this essay, the main reason behind this, along with the best tactic to mitigate this issue will be further elaborated. To embark on, despite being a general trend, online gaming has encouraged young academics to spend the vast majority of their free time indoors because of the variety of free amusement tools. This means that when teenagers find different applications and games for free, they will be tempted to stay at home. An eminent example of this is the overwhelming majority of Egyptian students who endeavour to spend their holidays on Facebook pages and playing different games on laptops. Therefore, students are immensely attracted to leading a sedentary lifestyle as a result of the availability of video games. Furthermore, the school management is the panacea for this trend, but this should be done with great caution to introduce more sports to extracurricular activities. In other words, if authorities encourage students to get involved in different competitions, this will boost their desire to participate in these competitions. This can be witnessed by a plethora of Egyptian international educational institutions which have recently increased the number of sports classes. Accordingly, in a final analysis, educational institutions play a pivotal role in encouraging sports events. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that not only do various internet applications have affected the choices of learners, but also they have negatively influenced their physical well-being. Eventually, I believe that without schools youth could not have been active.