Too much money is spent on looking after and repairing old buildings. Some people think we should knock old buildings down and build new modern ones. To what extent do you or disagree?

Some people think the long-term cost of protection and fixing old buildings is so high that we should use new buildings to replace them. However, in my opinion, new buildings indeed provide a more effective way to satisfy housing but old buildings ' reservation is also necessary for individuals and society. Old buildings are crucial to traditional and national culture, from which everyone has developed a sense of self-identity and built up confidence that makes them feel strong to face kinds of obstacles. Old buildings are carriers that undertake traditional culture and history. So people can understand the past and how it tortuously developed in the long history through them. Then people can understand who they are and will be part of the history of their nation. As they build up the connection to the past, they will develop a sense of belonging, which becomes a significant part of their national identity. For instance, If everyone has the same national identity and principles, we will achieve social cohesion. However, it would not be reasonable to ask people to protect old buildings in a city or town where they can not find enough houses to live in. Reservation of cultural heritage is undoubtedly significant, but satisfying citizens' basic living standards such as housing, hospital, and school should is always the top concern for all people. For example, in China, with old buildings in cities and towns being demolished, more and more skyscrapers were constructed to give a facility to accommodation for working, living, and shopping 30 years ago. In conclusion, the extent of protection of the old buildings should depend on the condition of the country or nation's housing situation. Conserving ancient buildings undoubtedly is a great choice to provide an opportunity to strengthen citizens' sense of national conviction as long as it can ensure the housing is sufficient.