Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent days, drug addiction, especially among the younger generation, increasing at an alarming rate. There is always a debate on the appropriate actions required for such acts. Someone feels, those who are practising drugs should get a maximum penalty from low, whereas others believe they required proper medical treatment rather than sending them Jail. In the upcoming,paragraph I shall discuss both of these views by analysing the facts to understand the actual need for the same. To begin with, the view of drug usage and addiction are criminal offences and those who are convicted of the same should send to jail is a reasonable argument. The main reason for such an argument is due to the criminal activities conducted by people after drug addiction. For example, if we analyse rape cases, we could find a fact that, in most cases, the crime conducted by drug -addicted people. Hence it is better to send such people to Jail to avoid or resist criminal activities by them. On the other hand, It is important to have better medical care rather than treating them with law. If we consider them as patients and provide the necessary treatment, we could bring back them to society as completely new and good people. For instance, the study conducted by National Lab, Pune shows that 80% of drug -addicted people could come back to their normal life after they underwent suitable medical care. This study clearly suggests, for drug addicts, medical care is most important than law. In my opinion, we need to treat the cause rather than the post-committed crime. Hence, special care and medical attention is the solution to reduce such activities rather than sending them to Jail. In conclusion, identifying the root cause and appropriate treatment is more important to change drug addicts into wonderful people in society.