As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Printed books have become redundant in the modern age due to the advent of electronic books. This has prompted many to advocate for the abolishment of textbooks in universities in favor of digital books. Though many individuals find reading on their devices comparatively difficult and some may even lack expertise in using digital resources, I believe there are many benefits of this situation. Besides being portable and economical, e- books offer various accessibility functions which are absent in traditional textbooks. The main advantage of using e- books is the ease of carrying and storing them. For instance, a mobile phone, tablet, computer can hold millions of digital books, so students would not have the burden of carrying paperback or hardcover books wherever they go. Universities, too, can save a lot by eliminating their libraries and digitizing their resources. Similarly, it is extremely inexpensive to publish and purchase e- books since one file can be replicated as many times as possible without having to use paper and ink. Lastly, unlike traditional books, e- books come with features like Search, Bookmark, and Highlight, which make them a lot easier to use. Despite the advantages discussed earlier, there is a huge digital divide among the people in the world. Digital resources might be unfavorable for students who are unfamiliar with technology. While some have been raised with amenities like computer and internet, others might be technologically illiterate. It would be detrimental to such students if universities do away with printed books. On top of that, even among people who are capable of using computers, reading long texts on a screen is tiresome and inconvenient. Due to a force of habit, many people find holding a physical book and flicking through the pages easier than downloading books onto their devices and reading against the glow of the screen. To conclude, the usefulness of e- books surpasses the downsides, as they are convenient to store and transport, comparatively inexpensive, and come with several extra features. These merits definitely outweigh the difficulties faced by some students when using digital books.