In many places, people's lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

The world is changing at a rapid pace due to phenomena such as globalization and emerging technologies. This has had a serious impact on families which in my opinion is quite negative. It cannot be denied during the past decade, the world has changed drastically. Globalization has allowed people to settle down far from the place they were born. Moreover, digitization has taken up an important role in society, causing people to live increasingly more their life online rather than offline. Although these technologies have allowed people to keep in touch with relatives all across the world, it has changed the relationship between people and the way people communicate with one another. Moreover, new technologies such as phones and social media have created distractions for people and also give them an artificial sense of community. Hence, the need of having close family ties has decreased, since these platforms create different connections. However, nothing can replace the love of a family member. This is also usually what people realize later on in life, when they see that friendships are easily fading. But at that point, it might already be too late to strengthen the family bond. In conclusion, I believe that the changing way people are living nowadays has had a negative effect on families. People feel less need to be close to relatives and can be living far away from them, causing a strain on these relationships.