Nowadays tourism generates a significant part of national income for many countries, but it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantage and disadvantages of tourism and provide a logical conclusion.

It is evident that tourism contributes significantly to the national income. During the pandemic, tourism sector witnessed a decline in tourists due to mandatory boarder closures. The biggest impact was notified noticied on developing countries like India, which are heavily reliable on the tourism national income. Just like a coin has two sides, similarly tourism has both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, tourism boosts local business which impacts the economy directly. The perks of tourism are specially enjoyed by the developing economies as these economies attract tourists from developed nations with high purchasing parity. Secondly, research have suggested direct relationship between mental health and tourism. Finally, tourism allows people to discover new cultures and cuisines. On the flip side, tourism is the biggest contributor to carbon footprint and pollution. For instance, Taj Mahal has reduced visiting hours as with the rise of pollution the colour of the site is turning to pink from white. Moreover, due to increasing number of cases for vandalism against monuments, authorities have implemented strict measures to enter historical sites. In conclusion, tourism has both postives positive and negatives. The onus is on the general public to conduct themselves responsibly and to consider their impact on the environment when choosing the mode of transportation.