Some people think that university students should specialize in one subject, while others think universities should encourage students to learn a range of subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion

University graduates have become a vital part of society, as it gives a chance to the students to expand their knowledge beyond the basic high school education. Now a lot of individuals believe that it has to provide in-depth understanding of a particular stream while others are not on the boat asking institutes to provide a wide range of choices. I will be discussing these two views and will try to conclude my own point of view. The first and foremost part of university education is to give direction to the students for their carrier. They could decide to become doctors, engineers and mathematicians by doing extensive studies in a particular topic. We all know that with higher studies, specialization of a stream is inevitable as society demands more and more professionals. For instance, surgeons are in high demand as compared to general doctors. Nonetheless, It also kills innovation because of this well-defined and focused model of learning just one subject and there comes the idea of giving students a range of topics. This will expand their horizons, give them different prospects to see the world and also embrace innovative thinking. For example, MIT is known for its wide range of scientists and entrepreneurs around the world because of this approach of combining different streams. lastly, I believe that every stream was developed with a combination of other topics and it is also fun to study different prospects. Therefore I believe it would be valuable to push students to study a wide range of topics.