Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

With the development of urbanization, issues of household waste are arousing an increasing concern among some people. There is an opinion held by some people that governments should introduce laws to make citizens recycling their waste more. From my perspective, although it is urgent to make people realize the importance of waste recycling, there is no need to make laws to force people to deal with their waste in this way. Recycling is an effective way for us to process our daily litter and some people are still unaware of its benefit. Thus governments could adapt several ways to educate the public. Firstly, mess media such as tv channels, newspapers and radio stations could publish nonbeneficial advertisements to advocate this eco-friendly idea. Secondly, schools could introduce this idea to young students by holding lectures or assigning homework which requires them to recycle some plastic bottles with their parents. Thirdly, volunteers in communities could also play a crucial role in this progress. Generally, they are familiar with their neighbours so the publicity may have a better impact. However, making laws to regulate waste recycling is unnecessary. Because it becomes a kind of compulsory requirement for the public if there is a law about waste recycling and it is unrealistic. As a result, it will make many people inconvenient in their daily life, although it is from a good purpose. For instance, it is hard to define what kinds of rubbish should be recycled and what should not. Nevertheless, it is also difficult for authorities to check if people recycled the item they are required to or not. In conclusion, it is unnecessary and unrealistic to introduce laws to make people recycle more of their rubbish. Governments should focus on educating and persuading the public into the recycling process instead.