Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a tendency, nowadays, that a noticeable part of individuals does not have hobbies at all. As a result of such poor involvement in hobbies, people start losing their own identity and begin more passive as members of society. In my opinion, devoting hours to hobbies is an essential part of people's life. Since we live in the era of the internet, communities around the world have more opportunities for any sort of content they want. Consequently, these individuals spend the majority of their free time online: searching for something or chatting with their online friends on social media. As a result of being constantly on the internet, such individuals usually end up having no free time for hobbies. Thus, in my personal view, will negatively affect them. Another reason for this effect is poor conditions to have a hobby. For instance, a lot of people like to do sport, but they give up early because of insufficient sports equipment or sports places provided by the government. If the government of any country in the world provides a good sports field and free sufficient equipment for their citizens, they will enjoy doing sport as a hobby. As an example, I can say that even though I was passionate about football, I found this very problematic to continue playing it in my home town because of the bad quality of the football field and our team sports clothes, which were necessary to wear during the games. In conclusion, I would say that there are two big reasons for the decrease in the popularity to have a hobby. The first is overspending time online, and the second is that government does not reinforce the public to do hobbies.