Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Recycling has become an efficient solution to tackle worldwide pollution issues in recent years. Some people say that waste from homes is not recycled enough and they propose governments introduce rules to cope with this. In my opinion, laws are necessary for recycling because they can create reusing habits and reform people's bad behaviours in order to protect the environment. Firstly, establishing recycling laws as well as instructions about how to do it will form a habit of classifying and reproducing waste for the members of society. For example, In Korea and Japan, the governments introduce legal documents that require their citizens to classify rubbish into exact types of receptacles so that they can be collected and recycled appropriately. This has gradually created a habit among Korean and Japanese, which helps to keep their street and living environment clean and reduce waste disposed to the environment. It is clear that making a legal acquirement is a key factor in increasing people's awareness of recycling their home waste. In addition to this, imposing regulations about recyclable waste, such as punishments, contribute to reforming inappropriate behaviours to raise people's cognition of protecting the environment. For instance, in Singapore, not classifying and throwing waste from homes accidentally or intentionally without recycling will be punished with up to 300 SGD or even sent to prison, which helps this country become the cleanest region in the world. This not only sets an alarm to warn people about their harmful acts but also reforms the behaviours of the entire society. Thus, laws should be introduced to make people recycle more. In conclusion, rules introduced by governments play an important role in inciting people to recycle on account of helping to create classifying and recycling habits as well as punishing detrimental acts harming the environment.