In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are spending more and more of their time indoors. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to solve it?

It is a common trend in many nations for the younger generation to spend most of their time indoors. This behaviour is largely the result of the increasing use of digital technology and reduced face-to –face social interaction. However, I think these problems can be addressed by parents, who can regulate screen time and encourage children to participate in outdoor social activities. One major cause of this issue is the growing reliance on technological devices. Young people can now study, entertain themselves, and communicate online. Since information necessary for school can now be found online, there is less need to visit libraries after class. Moreover, with social media, kids can interact with their friends virtually, without leaving the house. As a result, they may have limited interpersonal skills and become less confident when forming new in-person relationships. A recent example of this was the pandemic, when most lessons for school and entertainment were conducted online, and the trend continued afterwards. Despite these causes, parents can have a key role in changing this behavior by reducing the time their children are allowed to spend online, as well as guiding them to new in-person hobbies. Firstly, parents can limit the time a child learns via the internet and teach the same information in real life. For example, a good way for small children to learn about animals is by going to zoos, parks, and nature areas. Another effective way to motivate taking part in group activities, such as book clubs or team sports, allow youngsters to develop social confidence in a comfortable environment. In conclusion, young people are spending most of their time indoors mainly due to the dominance of smart devices and the lack of real communication. Nevertheless, by reducing screen time and promoting healthy activities, parents can help their offspring to become more socially active and spend more time outside.