It is difficult for some people living in cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the cases? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is undoubted that physical exercise plays an important role in maintaining good health. However, in present-day society, it is a fact that there are more and more citizens having insufficient physical exercise on a daily basis. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation. To begin with, there are two major causes of insufficient physical exercise among today’s citizens. First, this comes from a lack of work-life balance. It is true that the labour market is ever-increasingly competitive,especially in the third world where FDI companies are investing in and searching for high-quality workers by offering superior salaries to local ones but requiring more working hours. As a result, many people seem to spiral into the vicious cycle of working and earning regardless of their health conditions. Second, existing green public spaces being gradually replaced by blocks of flats or skyscrapers cannot provide enough capacity to citizens’ demands for physical exercise due to the increasing movement of rural people pouring into the cities with their hopes of getting better-paid jobs. To cope with the given reasons expressed above, there are a variety of solutions that need both individuals and authorities to be involved in. On a personal level, individuals should equip themselves with time management skill and comply with the timetable that they already set up, which gradually help them balance work and life more effectively. Furthermore, from the view of authorities, political leaders should embrace green politics including opening more public spaces such as parks and pedestrian-only streets within reach of walking distance that enable and encourage citizens to do more regular exercises. In short, it is obvious that there are critical reasons for citizens’ insufficient exercise and suggested steps, in turn, need to be taken to deal with this issue.