Many people believe that the increase presence of violence in films and television these days is responsible for rising incident of violent crimes among youth society. They argue that government have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon. Do you agree with this arguments

Youth violence is a shared social problem. Many people thus propose that governments must tackle this issue by controlling the media, which people see as responsible for inciting this violence through films and television. While external influences undoubtedly sway youth, I disagree that a government must censor the entertainment industry; instead, it is up to society to handle the matter. Today’s young people may be influenced by many things, from films to websites to their peers. It is unreasonable then to single out movies and sitcoms as the prominent influencers of violence. In other words, kids may see violence and kindness, greed and generosity, and all other human behaviours in pretty equal measure everywhere. They can witness all of these things in one news broadcast or viral Youtube clip just as quickly as they can in an action flick. Therefore, blaming the entertainment industry is unfair and wrong in also ignoring bad in that it ignores the root causes of specific social behaviours. To suggest that the government can control this is to avoid taking responsibility for ourselves. Indeed, a government’s role is not to act as parents to its citizens but maintain order and provide the tools for society to thrive; it should not tell people what they can and cannot do. On the other hand, parents can and must oversee what their children are exposed to, be it online, in a movie, book, or in any other source. Consequently, parents must decide whether they want their children to watch a horror film. It is not for governments to ban studies from making it. Furthermore, once we allow the government to use censorship in one area, it will be free to act in all spheres of our lives because negative influences are everywhere and have always been so. Restricting people ’s access to media will not stop the violence. It may increase as citizens begin to fight for their freedoms. In conclusion, social behaviour patterns are impacted by many things, including, but not limited to, media products and society should take control of this. Governments should not be allowed to restrict what film or TV companies produce because they will then have to spread their power to all areas of society.