Advancements in technology have given rise to several environmental problems. Some people believe that in order to solve environmental problems, people need to live simpler lives. However, others believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era, technology that plays a vital role in human life affects the environment in many ways leading to pollution and depletion of natural resources. One set of people believes that living life simpler might resolve this issue. While others suggest that using modern machines will solve this problem. In my opinion, using advanced systems is one of the great assets to mitigate the environmental problem and provide a long-term solution to this issue. On one hand, people recommend living life in uncomplicated manners such as preferring walking or cycling rather than a car or bike. By doing so, air pollution will be controlled to a greater extent and resources like petrol and diesel are conserved. In addition to that, the public might consider reducing the control of electricity thereby, the exploitation of natural resources like fossil fuels and natural power is reduced significantly. For example, an annual event an "Earth hour" is held once every year where everyone turns off their electricity for one hour. On the other hand, many inventions in technology help in the use of recycling paper and glasses which significantly reduced the problem of water disposal. Moreover, technology can be used to generate electricity by using natural resources and renewables. For instance, many industries of the nations use the latest methods to generate power by utilising solar and wind energy which facilitates manufacturing. To conclude, technology is a great asset to the world, and exploring the opportunities to make use of efficient technological methodologies to migrate environmental issues is the wisest decision compared to letting go and leading a simple life.