Is it better to take a gap year to travel or to go straight to university?

More school leavers are taking a gap year before going to university. Some use the time to work and save money, others to travel and see the world. Of course, they will need money at university.The life, of students is more expensive than ever, and some savings in the bank will help. Also, round-the-world air tickets cost money, and the last thing a first -year student needs is debt. The gap year, however,is not just about finances. This is the student’s chance to broaden their horizons. A job delivering pizzas, for example,is unlikely to do this. Visiting other countries, on the other hand,will show them new cultures and ways of life. In addition, what they learn while abroad will help them see the degree they have chosen in a new way or even decide to change it. Working in a manual job will not be so eye-opening. In conclusion, travelling is the best way to spend a gap year. Of course, a student should not start university in debt and should be prepared to work enough to fund any travel expenses