Nowadays, people always throw old things away and buy new things, whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects does the phenomenon lead to?

It is true that individuals tend to buy the latest products rather than reuse or keep the old ones in the industrialized era. There are two main reasons behind this tendency, this essay will further discuss why it was triggered, and how the tendency might have some detrimental impacts on the public. To begin with, thanks to the improvements in technology, factories are able to produce a plethora of goods in an efficient way than in the past. Moreover, as advertising has become a key part of modern business, which creates demand for products. For instance, we are persuaded by the adverts on the TV, newspaper, magazine, flyers and the Internet to follow the latest trend, therefore we will buy fashionable clothes and shoes that just came out in that season. Whilst the arising of this phenomenon can boost the economy and offers more opportunities for employment, however, this is surely not the only way to look at it. There are a few shortcomings to this phenomenon. Firstly, buying too much stuff could make one's financial circumstances worse, and people might even end up going bankrupt. Secondly, we are destroying the environment by not renovating and reusing old stuff. For example, cotton is crucial in order to produce clothes, but it can cause pollution, and soil degradation. Not to mention the use of harmful pesticides. Since natural resources are limited, if we keep wasting something usable and generating the newest products, we will eventually end up running out of them. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that each and every item of waste individuals throw away has the potential to be renovated and reused, and keep purchasing new products certainly has some detrimental effects on the environment.