Children are more likely to talk to their pets about their problems, than their siblings" (Source: BBC) Nowadays more and more pet owners consider their pets as a member of their family. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is a controversial argument heating the debate over whether domestic animals are beloved members of the family. Currently, pets are seen as close ones in many families. Personally, I consider myself an advocate for this movement. This essay is devoted to examining the driving factors behind this trend with equivalent justifications. Without a shadow of a doubt, pets do tremendously benefit their owners in terms of mental health. Commonly, individuals feel more comfortable when confiding in their pets rather than in humans, since other people can easily express their judgment or prejudice towards the story, which is not the case when it comes to animals. For instance, there are a plethora of hospitals and medical-care departments using trained dogs as supportive assistants for people who fall into depression or stress. On a family scale, a domestic animal can act as a confidant of the family members, providing them with a private and relaxing space to put their burdens aside. Therefore, it is undeniable that humans have developed a profound connection with their pets on a higher level. Another underlying reason why more and more people regard pets as their close ones is that they feel a great responsibility for their animals. In detail, pet owners have to care about the health, shape, and happiness of the animals they adopted. Taking them to the vet to get vaccinated or as simple as feeding them can be cited as strong examples. This close bond between the owners and the pets has a significant resemblance to the connection between people and their families, which provides them with a strong sense of responsibility and a feeling of being needed. Hence, people have no longer seen their pets as ordinary fauna, but as precious members of the family. In conclusion, there are two primary driving forces making pet owners develop a family relationship with their animals, which are mental connections and the responsibility for their little ones. Personally, I believe having such a valuable relationship with pets can bring people beneficial advantages, which are taken more and more into consideration.