Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays people are pressurized by the power of advertisements and they purchase unnecessary items. I totally accept the idea mentioned for the following reasons. In recent years, customers can easily be aware of cutting-edge products through flourishing advertisements which stimulate their sense of acquisitiveness. So, people make impulsive shops to just fulfil their sense of belonging. For example, people buy new smart mobile phones each year because most of them are influenced by advertisements; however; their previous one works properly. As result, the power of advertisements on customers is high which leads to consumerism. In addition, through advertisements, companies make a sense of needs through their products and then they meet those needs with other items. To clarify, they make people buy some products that could complete prior ones. For instance, iPhones release a must-have item like their mobile phones, then they introduce additional items like smart watches or Airpods. Therefore, customers who have just the mobile phone under the pressure of advertisements become greedy to have their accessories. To recap, we use products that not only our forefathers, but also even our parents never used as they were not important items for living, and nowadays we rely on them just because companies have us believe that we cannot live without them. In summary, I believe that commercials have a major role in our lifestyle and we purchase many goods just because we become greedy to have them not meet our fundamental needs which shows the power of broadcasts.