79.Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that replacing parks and gardens which are close to the city centre with buildings is the best way to reduce the time that individuals spend travelling to work. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because it is not a healthy decision and people will still travel to other places. Many countries’ cities are full of cars and buildings, with just some green spaces, because of the large number of vehicles that are on the roads, the quality of the air is very poor, then if the only green spaces are changed to buildings, then the air quality is going to get worse. This leads to health problems since individuals will be breathing bad-quality air, and this can cause respiratory-related problems. For example, in the last decades, the cases of asthma in Europe have increased compared with the past, and this is because of the poor quality of air, and the increasing contamination. The parks and gardens are places where people go to rest and enjoy the time with the environment, they are the only places where citizens can breathe fresher air, because of the large amount of trees and flowers. Then, if these places are changed to buildings when people want to go to parks, they need to spend more time travelling to get to one of these places. For instance, in Spain, there are many gardens and parks in the city centre, but if these all are changed to buildings, then people need to travel to the outside of their town, where there are forests and mountains. In conclusion, changing gardens and parks into apartments for commuters will increase air pollution, causing problems in people ’s health and individuals will need to travel longer distances if they want to relax in natural environments, I, therefore, believe that replacing gardens and parks into buildings is a negative development.