You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Reporting of crimes and other kinds of violent news on television and in newspapers can have adverse consquences. This kind of information should be restricted from being shown in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? You should write at least 254 words.

There is a trend in Pakistan to broadcast negative news on electronic and print media. It is observed the publication and broadcasting of crimes and violent behaviours develop highly negative attitudes among the viewers. Therefore, it is suggested not to telecast such news in the media, and I fully agree with this stance because it normalises the crimes among the general public, and when they go unpunished, more people dare to commit such heinous missions. First of all, it is very necessary to keep crimes the crimes and violence the violence, and in order to achieve this goal, these ulcers of humankind should be kept away from general public because if everyday people watch and read such reports, they may start considering it part of their culture, a normal thing happens every other day in different part of the countries. For example, as in Pakistani context, the military dictators have been breaching the law and constitution, and have ruled the country for decades. What helped them to do so? Their actions have been publicised more and more through media houses, no matters positively or negatively, it normalised their crimes in the minds of the masses and people started thinking it is acceptable if they breach the constitution. Therefore, there should not be such level of broadcasting of negative things that people may adopt it into their culture. Furthermore, the worst part of this episode is when the heinous crimes go unpunished, more and more people may indulge themselves to such negative activities. As quite recently we have seen a person named Sharukh Jatoi, slaughter of an innocent boy, was released from the courts by offering money to the heirs of the slaughtered boy, it has created a very adverse phenomenon on the general public: the rich think they can be released from the courts whatever crime they commit, and the poor are afraid there is no security and justice in the country, hence stressed. Had this particular case not been highlighted in the media at this level, the rich may still be afraid of the law, and the poor may still have the hope. Summing up, publicizing the crimes do not stop them, but give them a rise by normalising it and letting the criminal escape from the courts; therefore, neither the crimes should be broadcasted on media channels nor the criminals.