A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid change of ideas, the opinion of punishment has become increasing difference, some people think of longer prison terms as the correct way to punish crimes. Whereas others look upon other methods as a better solution to crimes. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the former and the reason will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. As everyone knows longer prison term is a strict punishment that can prevent more crimes from happening. Firstly, by longer prison terms, people who are afraid to go to jail would prevent breaking the law. That is, when people truly understand what they will face, they might spend more time thinking it is worthy or just a meaningless idea. Secondly, strict punishment can make people remember what they did. Take my experience for example. I stole a pen from a store when I was 20 years old. After that, I got a restrictive punishment from my parents that is limit my freedom. I must stay at home for 2 weeks. Therefore, I learned that as a human I could not steal goods. On the other hand, some people come up with the idea that teaching those people who break the law is a better solution. To be more clear, others consider those people would do the crime because they do not know what thing is allowed or forbidden. Furthermore, some people consider punishment could not avoid crime from those who want to do that. In other words, people who want to break the law do not consider the consequence, no matter how strict the punishment is. In conclusion, a longer prison term as a way of punishing is a good way to reduce the crime rate because it can prevent people from breaking the law and cave a deep experience in their hearts.