As children become adults, their social behaviour changes in some ways. What are the main differences between young children’s social behaviour and that of adults? To what extent are the changes that take place good?

There is no debate, that as children grow into adults, they change and not just on the outside, but on the inside too. The focus of many social psychologists, the way that children are shaped from their innate ways of communicating into the somewhat limiting unwritten rules that have been set by society. In this essay, I shall outline some social dissimilarities between children and adults as well as determine whether or not these changes are good. The first distinction that comes to mind is that children do not put so much care in the opinions of others. While it may come from the inability to do so, kids often simply do what they please, without having considered the repercussions of their actions. In contrast to this, while adults are much more rational and intelligent, many adults today struggle with social anxiety. While some forethought is absolutely necessary, it would be best if people learned to do what makes them happy and not fear the judgement of their surroundings. Another variation is that children are much more fickle and socially inconstant. Decades long mortgages and livelong marriage vows only work in the world of adults, where change takes a lot more effort. Adaptability is needed in everyday life and the flexibility that comes in youth allows one to make many friends and not to fend off people with their stubbornness. With all that being said, a balance is needed to marry the positive sides of both extremes. In conclusion, grown-ups are more stubborn and socially considerate than their younger selves. While this certainly has advantages, it also often comes with detriments, which limit everyday life.