People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that nobody can deny that one solution to environmental problems would be for the government to raise the price of petrol. To a certain extent, I agree that this measure would be effective. However, I also believe that other measures might have an even better impact. If states raised taxes on petrol, this would deal with two environmental concerns. First of all, regarding private vehicles, drivers would limit the number and length of their journeys due to hesitation in paying increasing expense. Simultaneously, national authorities would introduce the upgrading and expansion of public transportation, so that people could conveniently travel to work, to school or to travel to shops and hospitals, for instance. Moreover, from the freight services perspective, goods and products would have to be distributed from one place to another by rail rather than by truck. Both these mentioned methods contribute to cut down emissions from vehicle and hence help to reduce the greenhouse gases. On the contrary, despite the fact that the rise in fuel cost might be an effective stopgap measure, governments could introduce and adopt transport policies or regulations which could be more efficient in long-term period. Take local authorities in London as an example. They introduced a congestion charge on all big vehicles visiting the city centre. The money raised from this policy are used to subsidize the cost of fares and to enhance transport infrastructure. This, in turn has remarkably decreased exhaust fumes, and as a result improved the air quality in the city. Furthermore, introducing and encouraging the use of electric vehicles which could greatly reduce the pollution level, and help to combat global warming. In conclusion, increasing petrol cost would be a useful environmental-friendly transport measure, although in long term other methods would have more influence.