Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Unwell individuals are more likely to seek out remedies that are contrary to mainstream medical advice these days. I mostly think this is problematic due to potential misdiagnoses and unproven therapies, although the burden on the traditional healthcare system could be reduced. The main reason why I believe alternative medications could be detrimental is the higher likelihood of misdiagnosis. Patients could either diagnose themselves incorrectly with limited knowledge gained online or through unqualified practitioners with limited liability. This is in stark contrast to doctors who undergo years of training and are guided by strict professional codes of conduct to ensure appropriate treatment. Furthermore, many of the substitute treatments are not backed by science. Mainstream medications prescribed by doctors are subject to peer-reviewed research to ensure that they are completely safe for the consumer. In contrast, many alternative medications are designed for different purposes and may have increased side effects or decreased efficacy. For example, many non-medical professionals promoted the use of Ivermectin for the treatment of COVID-19, even though it was designed for the prevention of parasites on animals. Needless to say, the results have been inconclusive, and its use has resulted in some severe side effects. However, I consider the alternative treatments could be beneficial in terms of reducing the burden on public health care for treating minor conditions. Doctors are often overworked, and it is exceptionally expensive and time-consuming to train new medical professionals. If people with minor ailments were to seek out trustworthy alternative treatment providers, the pressure on the healthcare system could be significantly reduced and allow doctors to focus on more serious cases. In conclusion, I somewhat believe that sourcing alternative methods to alleviate ailments is negative, as although this could relieve under-resourced medical practitioners, there is a higher likelihood of patients relying on an incorrect assumption or unverified and inappropriate medications