Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that there should be similar punishments for young people and adults who commit crimes. While some people argue in favour, I strongly oppose this notion for several reasons. On the one hand, there might be visible reasons why punishments should be the same for youth as well as adults. First of all, giving different punishments seems unfair because the offense was the same, especially when it is so severe. For example, in the case murder – taking someone’s life intentionally – age should not lessen the punishment. Secondly, one purpose of having similar punishments is to deliver justice for victims. To be clear, equal punishment ensures victims feel justice is served, no matter who committed the crime. For these reasons, similar punishments might be beneficial. Despite the arguments, I strongly believe it should not be treated the same, as the main goal should be to reform and rehabilitate the juvenile offender, to help him or her become a productive member of society. Moreover, rehabilitative approaches have helped reduce crime rates in many cities. Additionally, if juvenile receive the same punishment as adults, they may not endure such harsh penalties. Because young people are not stronger, and it can also affect their mental health. Therefore, considering these factors, they should be treated differently. In conclusion, although giving the same punishment is reasonable, I think different punishments are more appropriate due to the age of offenders and young people should be educated and guided rather than punished.