Some people think the Olympic Games are exciting and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the view that the Olympics are astonishing and can bring countries to common ground whereas others think its a decay of finances. While the games itself have opportunities for individuals it can be a paradise for fraud and mismanagement. The Olympics is the only stage where world's top athletes compete for supremacy. To begin,with this helps athletes around the world come together, and show their talents to the world. Secondly, it gives an opportunity to nations around the world to put their differences aside and come together. As an example, the world,war two Olympics pave the way to a ceasefire conduct the event which was the climax of the century. Finally, the game will help to increase camaraderie among athletes and share their experiences and learn from each other. On the contrary, at the hands of the wrong,authorities it can have detrimental effects to the economy. Firstly, conducting an event of such magnitude requires millions of dollars to be spent in a short period of time. For instance, in 2016 Brazil hosted the Olympics and invested billions in the improvement of infrastructure in the country, nevertheless right after the game's country went in a debt trap resulting an economic collapse. In addition to this, a report issued by the IMF showcased the extent public funds were misused by the government without any understanding of the repercussions. In conclusion, although conducting Olympics in a country where transparency and rule of law is upheld can be a success, it will have devastating effects to countries who are unable to invest money to the event accurately resulting in bankruptcy..