Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a common phenomenon that some children are getting obsessed with their smartphones nowadays. In my opinion, it should arouse more concern because it is definitely harmful to young people and there are a variety of reasons towards this. There are three main aspects for us to conduct the courses. To start with the parents, many parents are not as responsible as they should be. Some of them who are busy with work are likely to throw a smartphone at their children, leaving them watching cartoons to make them quiet. Then, it is required in schools to accomplish homework or activities by using smartphones. Thus they offer access to mobile phone for children. Nevertheless, smartphones are indeed popular in today's society. Children could watch videoes, play games, communicate with their friends and search information online through smartphones. Life could be less colourful and inconvenient if one does not equipped with a handset. However, relying too much on smartphones could be devastating for young people. Firstly, it will do harm to children's eyes if they watch digital screens for hours and hours consistently. It is no wonder now there are an increasing number of children who are short-sighted from kindergarten. Secondly, spending time on smartphones and communicating with others online without face-to-face may damage children's social abilities, which will affect them in a long run. Thirdly, young children who are exposed overly to the internet tend to become more influenced by KOLs and celebrities. For instance, some of them may care about fashion, outfits and makeup far more than their school works, even dropping out of school. In conclusion, parents, education systems and society should take their responsibilities together to protect children from over usage of smartphones.