In many countries today, crimes novels and TV crimes dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV show are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime fiction and television series are garnering worldwide popularity. People are hooked to crime content because they have an element of surprise and twist; however, I feel that crime fiction and TV drama disturb the mind and should be avoided. Books and television series of the crime genre have become an addictive choice for the masses. Entertainment providers or book authors ensure that they fill their content with surprises, speed action, and unexpected twists in the story. This keeps the audience engaged and wanting for the next episode of the series or the next book. Also, deep down the entertainment industry understands the psychology of human mind which always seeks novelty / suspense. For example, the Game of Throne series has become very popular amongst old and young because of its strong characters and unexpected twists in the plot. This popularity of crime fiction, in my opinion, is detrimental to the readers or audience. People spend endless hours consuming crime content through reading or watching series, but in the end their mind is left with disturbing images, and an addiction to dopamine rush that this content brings. Especially for kids it is very very harmful content which can lead to wrong choices early in life. To illustrate, a study published by Stanford psychological department states that because of crime books and TV content kids are exposed to at least 180 murder scenes by the age of sixteen. In conclusion, although the crime books and TV episodes are gaining huge entertainment popularity in recent times, I think this content should be avoided as much as possible and children must certainly stay away from it.