Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A large number of children devote lots of their time on their high-tech cell phones every day. I think they use to do this, since they do not have appropriate activities to in their spare time and furthermore, as they are alone. Thus, I believe that definitely it is a negative development. These days. We are witness Change the form of the verb witnessing show examples the significant number of nuclear families, who have only one child and due to the economic states of the majority of society, both parents have to work full- time. To illustrate, imagine an 8-year-old boy, who does have any sisters or brothers; he comes back home from school and there is no one at home. Therefore, he uses his phone to communicate with other individuals, his relatives or friends. On the other hand, the limited space of the apartment, force him to do some games on his phone, instead of doing some activities which need more space like playing with a ball. Hence, children use their high-tech gadgets for various reasons, like solitary and limited space. On the other side of the coin, spending a significant time on the modern cell phones, have several negative consequences. Firstly, children sit or lay down and use their mobile phones, according to the common poor nutrition diet of the children, with this passive lifestyle, it has negative effects on their health and may cause obesity in some cases. Secondly, they use to spend their time on their gadgets and do not talk to their parents or other persons. This lack of communication, will has negative impacts on their social skills. And finally, parents do not have any control on the contents that their children see in their phones. In some age category it can be harmful for the children, since social media is full of violence or sexual content, which a little kid should face at its true time. In conclusion, I believe that children use their smartphones more and more, since they do not have enough people around them to spend their time with them and also they live in small apartments, which cannot do some physical activities there. This phenomenon has various negative impacts on the children, such as health problems, lack of social skills and use inappropriate content.