Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

It is argued by some that the major environmental problem at the moment is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, while others say that there are other significant environmental problems. I believe that while the loss of particular species of plants and animals can disrupt the food chain, climate change and deforestation are the major environmental problems. Some argue that the loss of a particular species of plants and animals is the main environmental threat because it disrupts the food chain. That is to say, certain plants are a food source for particular animals, therefore, the loss of these plants has an impact on the particular animal who relied on them as a food source. For example, in Australia, grassroots declined in its number after a wildfire in 2015 burnt leaves of grass which was a food source for it. Others say that climate change and deforestation are more important environmental problems. That is to say that due to climate change the sea level is increasing and many cities would be submerged, therefore, many communities living along the coast will be forced to migrate to save places. Deforestation is another environmental problem because trees absorb approximately 70% of carbon dioxide from human activities, therefore, cutting these trees would accelerate the amount of carbon dioxide we emit into the atmosphere which would have bad consequences. For instance, Australia contributed double the amount of emissions they released into the atmosphere in 2015 due to the loss of 1 million hectares of forest which is burnt into ashes by a wildfire. For this reason, I believe that climate change and deforestation are the major environmental problems. In conclusion, although the loss of certain species of flora and fauna can disrupt the food chain, I believe that climate change and deforestation are the major environmental problems.