Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

A handful of languages are being used as a medium of communication over others and this trend is gaining momentum across different countries. I consider this orbit shift in dialect as a negative development as it not only damages the identity of the native speakers but also paves the passage for certain languages even becoming obsolete. The shift in language to another languages language will hamper the identity of the native speakers. The people are forced to learn and have command over languages that is widely used due to various reasons and therefore will continue to accept the culture and adopt the new identity and lose their own. This is alarming as a language holds the key and centre for any civilisation and if they continue to prefer other languages in the process there will be a single identity across. As language gain importance over,others there will be a severe decline in the contributions in the field of literature, cultural events and even motion pictures due to a decline in the readers or viewers opting in for a new one than the existing one thus impacting the development of that language and passing it to the next generations. For example: Hindi is widely spoken and it is increasingly penetrating the southern parts of India and thereby hampering the development of the regional language and even having the power to erase the memory of the language that was in practice a couple of generations back. Therefore in my,view the increasing trend of languages that is taken over precedence to the language that is native to the region is not a positive sign of development.