Nowadays as a part of the education process students are working for a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is very common for young people to do an internship. Because these internships are often unpaid, there are some who are opposed to this concept. However, gaining work experience also has a lot of positive aspects. On the one hand, it is common sense that any work should be remunerated. Nonetheless, it is nowadays acceptable that young people work for months for a company, going above and beyond, and do not even earn enough money to cover their expenses for the day. Some would even call it modern slavery. Moreover, the work that trainees get at these companies contains often tasks no one else wants to do. This could be for instance digitizing the administrative system, hence photocopying files for the entire day. This raises the question if doing an internship is actually that worthwhile. On the other hand, gaining real-life experience is very valuable in today's job market. Being able to say you were an intern at companies such as Deloitte or KPMG opens doors when graduates are looking for jobs. In addition, it offers students a chance to do a reality check and to see what working in a company is really like. Movies often portray corporate life in an idealized way, so having the opportunity to integrate a company can be eye-opening. In conclusion, unpaid internships could be described as unethical given that young people are being exploited. That being said, I believe that the real value of an internship lies in the acquisition of work experience and the opportunity to network. These are two aspects that, once graduated, will facilitate the search for a job. Hence, working for a company for a few months, albeit without pay, is worthwhile in the long term.